International Year of Chemistry, 2011

UNESCO - United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization

Partners for the
International Year of Chemistry 2011

See all contacts

Contact Detail

Dr. Shiro Shichijyo Ideas Activities
  • MICS2011 Organization Committee, Mitsui Chemicals, Inc.
    Sodegaura, Chiba Prefecture, Japan
  • Email
    Tel +81-438-64-2493
  • Sector:

  • Organizations:

    Mitsui Chemicals, Inc.
  • IYC Interests:

    Increase the public appreciation and understanding of chemistry
    Encourage interest of young people in chemistry
    Generate enthusiasm for the creative future of chemistry
  • Web Site:


The Fifth Mitsui Chemicals

International Symposium on Catalysis Science (MICS2011)

Mitsui Chemicals International Symposiums on Catalysis Science (MICS) have been organized every two years since 2003. These symposiums have been attended by world-renowned scientists in the field of catalysis science, namely, the Nobel Laureates in Chemistry Professor Ryoji Noyori, Professor Jean-Marie Lehn, Professor K. Barry Sharpless, Professor Robert H. Grubbs, Professor Richard R. Schrock and Professor Roald Hoffmann.

For MICS2011, to be held on March 9th-10th, 2011, at Kazusa Akademia Hall, Kisarazu, Japan, the plenary lectures will be given by the Nobel Prize Laureates in Chemistry, Professor Yuan T. Lee (Academia Sinica, Taiwan), and Professor Sir John E. Walker (Medical Research Council, U.K.). The theme of MICS2011 is “Catalysis Science and Its Contribution to Sustainable Development”.

This symposium represents an opportunity for chemists around the world to discuss the current status and the future prospects of catalysis science with reference to the International Year of Chemistry 2011.

MICS2011 Organization Committee

Mitsui Chemicals, Inc.