International Year of Chemistry, 2011

UNESCO - United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization

Partners for the
International Year of Chemistry 2011

See all news

Nobel Endorsement

March 8, 2010

Support for the International Year of Chemistry is being expressed by Nobel Laureates.

Nobel Laureates have not only reached the pinnacle of achievement and recognition, their influence is very important to inspire young chemists and students.

IUPAC thanks the following Laureates who have returned letters of support:

- Sidney Altman , Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1989, (jointly with Thomas R. Cech) for their discovery of catalytic properties of RNA
> read Altman’s letter

- Paul D. Boyer , Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1997, (one half jointly with John E. Walker) for their elucidation of the enzymatic mechanism underlying the synthesis of adenosine triphosphate (ATP)
> read Boyer’s letter

- Matin Chalfie , Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2008, jointly with Osamu Shimomura and Roger Y. Tsien) for the discovery and development of the green fluorescent protein, GFP
> read Chalfie’s letter

- George A. Olah , Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1994, for his contribution to carbocation chemistry
> read Olah’s letter